Dear AARP

by Lena Fields-Arnold

Please remove me from your mailing list.

It’s not you, it’s me.

I’m just not ready for you.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve read some of your articles in my mother-in-law’s magazine and you do have some informative information to offer. I have to be honest with you.  It’s great stuff.

According to many of my friends who have embraced you, you seem to have some pretty good discounts as well.  For now you can keep them.

I know I’m 50, I am not ashamed of that, but I don’t need your constant reminders that I am growing older.  Not when I am still working so hard to fight against aging.  I hear the words of Dylan Thomas in my ear and I will not go gently into that goodnight, I will rage against the dying of the light.  I will defy my age and accomplish things people some half my age will never try.

I thought you would have gotten the message when I never took advantage of your first offer.  Then you sent another offering me a free gift, but I don’t need another tote bag, or water bottle, or whatever enticement you are proposing next month. I have never been easy, so you will have to work harder than that to woo me.

Now, I ain’t mad at ya’. Or at my friends who love you. For them you have something to offer that they want, I get that.  As for me-I’m just not that into you.

I am just not ready to be a relationship with you, or anyone else who wants to constantly remind me that I am 50.

If you ever start a subscription called Super Amazing People Who Defy Age, call on me again.  Otherwise, try me again in 15 years, I might be ready for you by then.

Signed-the one who refuses to age!

For those who refuse to age gracefully visit Age No Factor-A Movement by Robin JVET!age-no-factor

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

